Feeds:
Comments

Archive for November 6th, 2008

I got tired of all the little pieces of soaps, discarded ones, all in zip lock bags so I just drop everything in a pot this morning, at 5h am, mixed it with coconut milk and up it went in the oven at 200F for about 2 hours (I forgot it was there…) but it turned out ok.

I did the tongue test and it is ready to be used. For fragrances, I added the bottoms of my fragrances oil I used yesterday, 2 drops left of this one and 2 drops left of that one, you get the picture…. the smell is divine.

Read Full Post »

100% Sodium Hydroxide also known as caustic soda or lye

I finally found lye, that was my big problem certified-lye.com and ordered it on line.

Today, I went to Lowe’s home improvement store (USA) and to my surprise I saw the Roebic 100% lye on the shelf, I could not believe it and it was on sale : only 6 containers left? I took them all… and almost ran to the self-served cashier because I was afraid somebody would tell me that I could only buy one.

Now I’m the proud owner of 12 pounds of 100% lye… and another 4 pds are coming through the mail. A determine person is a determine person.

In Canada, you can find Cristaux de Soude (Lys crystals) at Home Hardware stores.  Phone them prior to your shopping trips, to be sure of their inventory.

Lye Crystal at Home Hardware store in Canada

And finally, if it comes to not finding any around you and you happen to live where you have access to wood ash, just make your own lye.  It is a very easy process, one that my grand-parents were using.

Have a look here, for the step by step and for a video done on youtube.

Read Full Post »

http://www.teachsoap.com/colorants.html

… and I have mixing glycerin with oxides in different littles plastic bottles, keeping just the three primaries colors of the color wheel : blue, red and yellow, adding the mix just a little at a time, to the final step of soap making just before pouring the mix into the molds. So far, it is doing ok.

I have to remind myself that a little goes a long way… and always always start adding the light color before adding the dark one (ex. to obtain a green : add yellow and then add blue, little by little until obtaining the desired color).

Read Full Post »

Handmade soaps by La Belle Aurore, I love handmade soaps.

To make hot process soap in the oven, first preheat the oven to 180F and remove all but the lowest rack.

Start making soap using the cold process method. After you reach trace, do not add anything like scent or color. Instead, put a lid on the pot and put it into the oven. (more…)

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 164 other followers