Feeds:
Comments

Archive for April 9th, 2010

Notebook of a soapmaker on a budget... SoFoBoMo 2009

 Ah, why not again this year… push the ‘register’ key and up we go with a storm of ideas and heart palpitation…   

SoFoBoMo is short for Solo Photo Book Month – a group event where a bunch of photographers all make solo photo books start to finish in 31 days, with 35 photos and one pdf file.   

‘…A lot of photographers have considered making a book, but various concerns have stopped them. Heck, the same concerns stopped us. We worried that our photos weren’t good enough. We worried that we didn’t have enough photos. We worried that we couldn’t write the text, or couldn’t present a nice layout, or that we didn’t have the time to do a good job. 

SoFoBoMo gives us (and you) a way around those fears. There’s no requirement that the photos be good (but we suspect you’ll be surprised by how good yours are). There’s no requirement to have any text at all (but that doesn’t mean you can’t write pages of flowing prose). And there is no requirement on quality of layout. There are just three constraints: all the work must be done in one continuous 31 day period that falls completely inside the two month window, the book must contain at least 35 photos, and you have to generate a PDF of the book. That’s it. 

SoFoBoMo started in English. People joined in from all over the world. We’d like to see more people join in from more countries and in more languages because photos speak for themselves. If you would like more information please visit www.sofobomo.org If you could translate any of the information pages then we’d be delighted if you would help. Please contact // lingo@sofobomo.org…’ 

It is free to participate. There are very few rules and absolutely no prizes. It is a lot of fun. You’ve nothing to lose.
  


SoFoBoMo 2010 runs from 1st June to 31st July.  Register here!   

Last year, my SoFoBoMo 2009 was done and completed in 31 days.  My book was ‘Notebook of a soapmaker on a budget…’, published by Lulu.  It was available for free as a EBook for 31 days and now it is for sale as a paper copy.   

It is way too early to decide on a subject right now.  I will be in Spain during that time of the SoFoBoMo 2010 so I might choose that occasion to take my 35 pictures.  Time to go to the thinking board now…   

****************************************************   

I will use only one post to generate all my ideas as I go in developing this 2010 book.  This post will be it!  So bookmark it if you are following me.   

My biggest problem last year was to convert my enormous file in a pdf file of only… I don’t remember the exact number allowed to upload on the site … but within 12 hours of deadline of submitting my book, that was the bad new : my file was too big and I could not, for the life of me, find a solution.  It took me 5 hours, sweating and all, to come to a conclusion and I did meet the deadline…  ouf.  So this year, I am starting not by finding a subject but rather by alleviate the issue of finding the right way to upload the project.  I am reading at the moment : will look into Scribus and report later on.  

I did my book 2009, using Photoshop element7 and ending with a pdf file.  I used LuLu to publish it, just because my others books are with them at the moment.  This year, I will take time to shop around.  Issuu is another possibility because I like the way the book is displayed and the way the pages turn… all visual effects that get to me…  

*************************************************
Autodidact is what I call myself these days.. well actually it has been my title since 2006 when I moved here in Mexico. Each day is a new adventure and people are asking what do I do all day long? Man, I am way too busy to work is my answer… 

So here it is : Wednesday today, April 14 2010 and I am getting a hand over this SoFoBoMo 2010 and starting to see the light at the end of this amazing tunnel of learning. 

Title page of my Pesto de chili mulato y chili pasilla book on line

First, I have made this little book this morning, with trials and errors and succeeding in getting a total only 648kb size (1024kb is 1MB) and last year, SoFoBoMo 2009 max uploaded I believe was 20MB.  So the size for me was very important. 

And because I have a memory full of word and text, I wrote all the technical stuffs at the beginning of the book, so I can go back there and see what I have done.  Also it could help autodidact people like me: 

technical details of the making of the book

And of course this little book sits in the arm of ISSUU because I like the way the site presents the book, a turning page look!!

Now my next step is to read all the SoFoBoMo 2009 entries from last year…and that is 218 books girl!!  Well, it takes what it takes… time to get some mexican sun now, under my palm tree!

******************************************************************

May 10, 2010, a little update on this wonferful project of SoFoBoMo 2010.  I am all set to start, oh what a liberty to write this actually!

I have been doing a ‘TON’ of reading and surfing on the net.  What a great source of information this internet is.

So basically, my window will be from June 1, 2010 to June 18, to take my 35 photos.  July 1, 2010 at midnight will be my drop off of the book on line.

My subject : Spain

My tittle : not there yet, the country will sing the ‘title’ to me in due time…

My nest to sit my book on : ISSU

I can say that it makes a ‘Huge’ difference from last year because this year, I know where I am going and all, and I am so organized, it is like a personal game I am playing with myself.  My mind is more clear and all set up.  What a great adventur it will be!

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 158 other followers