Feeds:
Comments

Archive for November 30th, 2007

Time to learn how practical this freezable basic cookie dough is! This recipe will keep in the freezer up to six months, can you believe this? It is a very well balanced basic cookie dough, made out of butter and just sweet enough to be able to stand any added sweetness to it if you want to create any kind of cookies. The secret to this recipe is: the extra egg white. It keeps the dough elastic in order to manipulate it. And because I have a tendency to guest more than to measure my ingredients, I weight my ingredients on a very small kitchen scale, specially the butter and the flour. What can I say; I’m giving myself every chance I can get to succeed in mastering cookies.

1 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
1 large egg
1 egg white
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 1/4 cups flour

Beat all ingredients except flour in a large bowl with mixer on medium speed until fluffy. Reduce speed to low, gradually add flour and beat just until blended.

Divide dough in 2 equal portions (about 1 1/2 cups each or weight the dough with your kitchen scale).

At this moment, the dough can be stored in the freezer, in a very well wrapped plastic bag. Defrost overnight for the next day to use.

If you are using it right away, here are the steps to take:

Roll out the dough and cut with cookie cutters. Bake at 350F, for about 10 minutes.

Read Full Post »

Older Posts »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 162 other followers